Dido the Dressform is Halfway Done

Remember that dressform I said I might get around to making?  Well I started.

???????????????????????????????

I used my snuggest princess seam block.

 

???????????????????????????????

As usual, my patterns look like bacon.


I might be jumping the gun here, but I’ve decided to call her Dido.  As in Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas. It’s an in-joke.  She’s really just a test… she’s made from some upholstery fabric I got at the UMSU Theatre garage sale, and stuffed with a pillow.  I’ll find something better to stuff her with once I’ve made some adjustments (mostly she should have my concave chest, and preferably some kind of neck.  I probably won’t ever be able to get her to do the funny flat-front-to-back thing that my ribs do… unless I make her some coat-hanger-wire ribs or something…  now there’s an idea… a dressform with a skeleton!).  For the moment if I need to use her I’ll stick her in a bra and it’ll go a ways to fixing the rather homogeneous shape of her chest.

 

???????????????????????????????

Front-side view (not like anyone could tell)

 ???????????????????????????????

Back view

???????????????????????????????

Side view.  Again, it’s hard to see where the front is. 

???????????????????????????????

She looks very pretty in my stays toile though.

???????????????????????????????

Hooray!  I have a (sort of) body double!  Maybe I can send her to Postgrad Seminar and teach her how to sign my name off for me…

Leave a Reply

